The perfect egg mayonnaise

Out of the main bustle of the Coffee shop this is where people gather to share recipes and tips/tricks.

The perfect egg mayonnaise

Postby TeresaFoodie » August 9th, 2017, 11:05 pm

I always have eggs and mayonnaise in and am looking out for the best egg mayo recipe.

Tonight I mashed hard-ish boiled eggs with mayo (shop bought), some Dijon mustard and ground white pepper. I remember once being shown in a professional veggie kitchen how to make this better by adding either cayenne or paprika but I cannot remember which.

Tomorrow's lunch will be my egg mix on wholemeal bread with sliced cherry tomatoes. Online an addition of watercress seems quite popular. As a kid I remember cress. I imagine either of these word work well. I am fairly new to the egg eating game so would love to hear your way with egg mayonnaise.

Would you ever serve it as a starter minus the sandwich/bread bit?

I feel my concoction tomorrow could do with a side serving of salt & vinegar Kettle Chips. :chops:
Happy Halloween......whoo
TeresaFoodie
Registered

Re: The perfect egg mayonnaise

Postby Luca » August 10th, 2017, 7:39 am

Hi Teresa, When I lived and worked in Paris oeufs dur au mayonnaise was often a staple on the starter selection of set price menus. In those days I used to receive restaurant coupons as part of my pay packet. The French take their working lunches seriously and we had enough for a daily three course meal plus glass of wine! Fun times! The recipe was always more or less the same but the choice of salad differed. It could be watercress, mac he and nowadays probably rocket.

Something similar to this.

http://www.parispaysanne.com/paris-pays ... mayonnaise

See if you can get your hands on a packet of cress seeds and grow it yourself. It's delicious with eggs.
Luca
Global Moderator

Postby Seatallan » August 10th, 2017, 11:29 am

TeresaFoodie wrote:Would you ever serve it as a starter minus the sandwich/bread bit?