ready mixed spices - quantity question

Out of the main bustle of the Coffee shop this is where people gather to share recipes and tips/tricks.

ready mixed spices - quantity question

Postby Herbidacious » December 2nd, 2019, 8:13 pm

I have a number of little jars of German spice mixes (Ankerkraut brand). Logic tells me that I can match a quantity of one of these for the total quantity of individual spices in a recipe i.e. if a recipe asks for 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 of nutmeg and 1/2 of ginger, say, I can use 1 tsp of mixed spices instead. But, I know that armchair culinary science doesn't always work. Obviously it's going to depend on the brand etc. but what do people think? As a general principle, is this sound?
I know I will just have to experiment at the end of the day, but would like people's opinion/the benefit of others' wisdom.
I am a bit of rookie baker.
Herbidacious
Registered

Re: ready mixed spices - quantity question

Postby Suelle » December 2nd, 2019, 8:26 pm

I would say your logic is correct, with one proviso - check that any spice usually used in small quantities isn't a major constituent of your mix, otherwise it might overwhelm. I'm thinking of cloves in particular.

Where the logic falls down is when scaling recipes up or down - scaling the spices doesn't always work as well as you'd expect.
Suelle
Global Moderator

Postby Herbidacious » December 2nd, 2019, 8:34 pm

Thanks, Suelle.
Herbidacious
Registered

Postby StokeySue » December 2nd, 2019, 9:46 pm

I agree with to t’other Sue, it should add up

Not being a fan of cinnamon I often play around with proportions but leave the total amount of spice the same
Sue
StokeySue
Registered

Postby Herbidacious » December 2nd, 2019, 10:08 pm

Ok will have a go. Biscuits first. I have some exciting combinations.
Herbidacious
Registered

Postby scullion » December 3rd, 2019, 12:21 pm

i had a related dilemma over pickling spices for one of the recent chutneys i made.