Fruit "cheese" - how to store it ?

A preservers paradise. Jams and chutneys everywhere.

Fruit "cheese" - how to store it ?

Postby bitoffluff » July 16th, 2014, 7:18 am

Hello :D

Im rather new to all this preserving malarkey, having not done it since i was knee high to a grasshopper "helping" my grandma which is a lot more years ago than I care to count !! However we have moved to a new house with a large garden and fruit trees so Im looking forward to learning to make lots of things.

I have just made some redcurrant "cheese" with the pulp left over from making redcurrant jelly, however none of the websites that I could find a cheese recipe on actually told me how to store it just that it was best kept for 2 months before eating. It is currently in the ramekins that I pored it into to set and covered with waxed discs and cling film then in an air tight box. Does it need to be de-moulded and wrapped or can i keep it in the ramekins ?

Thanks in hope :)

B
bitoffluff

Re: Fruit "cheese" - how to store it ?

Postby Suelle » July 16th, 2014, 8:06 am

I hope someone has a better answer than mine, but I think the 'cheese' should have been put into sterilised jars and treated the same way you would treat jams and jellies. I think now the only answer may be to freeze it.
Suelle
Global Moderator

Postby MrsWWoof » July 16th, 2014, 8:07 am

One of my preserving books says to wrap in waxed paper and leave in a cool and dark place for 4-6 weeks to mature. Hope this helps. Not tested by me as fruit cheese is one of the things I am yet to make.
Hold on . . . until you find your smile again.
MrsWWoof
Registered

Postby suffolk » July 16th, 2014, 8:24 am

I've demoulded and wrapped in waxed paper, then in tupperware-type container in fridge - it's kept in a useable condition for 3+ years.