[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4756: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3891)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4758: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3891)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4759: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3891)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4760: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3891)
Wildfood.info • View topic - Techie computer help please ...

Techie computer help please ...

Order yourself a latte, and a pastry (The virtual cinnamon buns are excellent today). And have a nice chat.

Techie computer help please ...

Postby KC2 » March 30th, 2019, 1:06 pm

Hi
I hope a Wildie with a lot better knowledge of computers than me might be able to help me :? - I have Toshiba laptop and still run Windows 7 as I didn't want to move to Windows 10. The last couple of times I've started up it asks me what operating system I want to choose, giving me a worrying little "ding". It does give me the Windows 7 option which I select and then it boots normally.
Should I be fearful of something irreparable about to happen? I should probably find my separate hard drive and do some backing up, anyway, important things like recipes ...

I did look on Google and found some answers but am a bit nervous of following the instructions in case I seriously mess up ...

This is what I found:
Follow these steps:
Click Start.
Type msconfig in the search box or open Run.
Go to Boot.
Select which Windows version you'd like to boot into directly.
Press Set as Default.
You can delete the earlier version by selecting it and then clicking Delete.
Click Apply.
Click OK.

Thank you!
KC2
Registered
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: December 31st, 2009, 5:38 pm
Location: West London

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby icelesley » March 30th, 2019, 1:24 pm

I don't think there is anything to worry about just select windows 7. Microsoft apparently are about to if not already have stopped supporting windows 7, its a ploy to make you buy the next level but it will continue working. My very very old Toshiba has windows 3 , I have to select that too but it still works, i just don't get updates anymore.
Never take life seriously. Nobody gets out alive anyway. Image ImageImage
User avatar
icelesley
Registered
 
Posts: 19243
Joined: March 31st, 2010, 8:44 am
Location: Cheshire

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby KC2 » March 30th, 2019, 4:10 pm

Thanks icey, that's comforting! Good to know I'm not the only person who has avoided Windows 10!
KC2
Registered
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: December 31st, 2009, 5:38 pm
Location: West London

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby Grasshopper » March 30th, 2019, 8:19 pm

Mine has Windows 8.
:bounce:
Grasshopper

Image
User avatar
Grasshopper
Registered
 
Posts: 7021
Joined: May 18th, 2010, 8:03 pm
Location: Yorkshire of The White Rose

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby KC2 » April 19th, 2019, 10:50 am

KC2
Registered
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: December 31st, 2009, 5:38 pm
Location: West London

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby scullion » April 19th, 2019, 12:25 pm

whatever happens, it's really sensible to backup regularly, anyway. i lost an almost completed 5,000 word essay when my partner closed down my computer and i hadn't backed up for a long time. i just walked into the kitchen and cried.
User avatar
scullion
Registered
 
Posts: 14262
Joined: April 9th, 2010, 2:08 pm
Location: cornwall

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby KC2 » April 19th, 2019, 3:55 pm

KC2
Registered
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: December 31st, 2009, 5:38 pm
Location: West London

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby earthmaiden » September 26th, 2019, 9:59 am

I have a new question which will show my ignorance. I feel so out of touch with the way technology zooms ahead (does anyone know of an idiot proof way of keeping up with it once they stop working with the young?).

I keep seeing adverts or mention of apps for quite complex things, some of which I would like. However, as far as I know I can only get apps on my phone and these are the kind of things I would want a larger screen for - ideally my laptop. I would have thought others would too. Is there a way of doing this?
User avatar
earthmaiden
Registered
 
Posts: 13589
Joined: April 2nd, 2010, 8:36 pm
Location: Wiltshire. UK

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby KC2 » September 26th, 2019, 10:29 am

EM, I've often wondered that too!
KC2
Registered
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: December 31st, 2009, 5:38 pm
Location: West London

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby PatsyMFagan » September 26th, 2019, 10:31 am

em, I have just googled 'how to get an app on your desktop' and it says you need iTunes …. I'm no techie, so I wouldn't know where to go from there. but I will ask my (business) partner's son when he comes into the shop later today …
No-one knows if you've done your housework, but everyone knows if you've done your gardening !
User avatar
PatsyMFagan
Registered
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: July 31st, 2010, 10:27 am
Location: Harefield, Uxbridge

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby scullion » September 26th, 2019, 10:44 am

maybe that's the reason that 'phablets' were developed!

(if anyone knows the reason why my laptop is saying the word 'were' should be 'we're' in all the things i've written this morning, i would like to know it too!).
User avatar
scullion
Registered
 
Posts: 14262
Joined: April 9th, 2010, 2:08 pm
Location: cornwall

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby earthmaiden » September 26th, 2019, 10:46 am

Ha ha - I never even thought of googling :lol: :oops:. I've got itunes, I will have a look online later. Thank you.

I have resisted buying a phablet so far. I really want a big screen for some things I want to do. You should know by now that auto correct likes to make you look foolish at every possible opportunity!
User avatar
earthmaiden
Registered
 
Posts: 13589
Joined: April 2nd, 2010, 8:36 pm
Location: Wiltshire. UK

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby scullion » September 26th, 2019, 10:55 am

maybe i'll have a day/week of not correcting what my laptop thinks i want to say - just to make it look foolish!
User avatar
scullion
Registered
 
Posts: 14262
Joined: April 9th, 2010, 2:08 pm
Location: cornwall

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby earthmaiden » September 26th, 2019, 10:58 am

:lol: :lol: you might just want to check it is not totally obscene! I have seen a few I'm glad I caught.
User avatar
earthmaiden
Registered
 
Posts: 13589
Joined: April 2nd, 2010, 8:36 pm
Location: Wiltshire. UK

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby PatsyMFagan » September 27th, 2019, 8:45 am

Em, ….. it seems that Windows has it's own App store called the Microsoft Store … (I need to pay more attention as I just typed Microwave ! :aww: :rolleyes: )
No-one knows if you've done your housework, but everyone knows if you've done your gardening !
User avatar
PatsyMFagan
Registered
 
Posts: 8798
Joined: July 31st, 2010, 10:27 am
Location: Harefield, Uxbridge

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby earthmaiden » September 27th, 2019, 9:33 am

Thanks Patsy, I looked at some instructions last night and decided I needed a degree to understand it - I'll have a look at that!
User avatar
earthmaiden
Registered
 
Posts: 13589
Joined: April 2nd, 2010, 8:36 pm
Location: Wiltshire. UK

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby earthmaiden » February 19th, 2020, 4:31 pm

This is another question.

I know that the technology is there, and used by many, to read something out and for it to be printed electronically for others to read. I have some old family letters which I have been laboriously copy typing at various intervals over the years. I am not a proficient copy typist. It has occured to me that there must be something I could read them out into and then copy to Word and edit. I have a feeling that everyone is going to gasp in horror that I don't know how to do this.

Any suggestions?
User avatar
earthmaiden
Registered
 
Posts: 13589
Joined: April 2nd, 2010, 8:36 pm
Location: Wiltshire. UK

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby dennispc » February 19th, 2020, 4:46 pm

Does your printer have a scanner?
Every day is a good day, it's just that some days are better than others.
User avatar
dennispc
Registered
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: September 8th, 2010, 6:28 pm

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby aero280 » February 19th, 2020, 5:15 pm

It should be an option on a modern computer. Look for something called "Dictation" or similar. Should be in the settings. I have an Apple computer and from time to time it automatically asks me if i want to turn dictation on when I type a long reply to a post! I never do. I prefer to type and read through to check (not always successfully...)
User avatar
aero280
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7809
Joined: December 31st, 2009, 12:46 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, UK

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby earthmaiden » February 19th, 2020, 5:23 pm

Thank you both, I'll go and see what I can find hiding on my laptop. Now you mention it, I think Cortada has such an option but I may have to install Word first as I currently only have Office 365 (don't ask!!).

I always scan via Photoshop Elements so can't (as far as I know) copy prose from a jpeg onto Word but maybe I can scan using something else (?).

Off to play!
User avatar
earthmaiden
Registered
 
Posts: 13589
Joined: April 2nd, 2010, 8:36 pm
Location: Wiltshire. UK

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby earthmaiden » February 19th, 2020, 11:25 pm

Gosh, it works! I had no idea I could do this on my laptop! Thank you.

https://www.digitaltrends.com/computing ... indows-10/
User avatar
earthmaiden
Registered
 
Posts: 13589
Joined: April 2nd, 2010, 8:36 pm
Location: Wiltshire. UK

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby scullion » February 20th, 2020, 12:36 am

we were given a test copy of a voice dictation program nearly twenty five years ago (from a friend at ibm) which you had to teach how you said things - hours of repeating set phrases until it (almost) mastered the way one person spoke (i didn't have the time to sit and talk at the microphone) but when the kids of either of laughed at what it was writing down it would write 'yacht, yacht, yacht etc.

my partner still uses windows 7, too. he's thinking of getting another laptop to use for 'every day' and keep the windows 7 one for the programs that won't be able to run on the latest iteration of windows.
i'm in a similar dilemma with the latest version of the mac operating system as i wouldn't be able to use my 'office for mac' . the new version isn't supporting 64 bit programs.
User avatar
scullion
Registered
 
Posts: 14262
Joined: April 9th, 2010, 2:08 pm
Location: cornwall

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby dennispc » February 20th, 2020, 10:25 am

I use Libre Office (free) for word processing on my mac. Haven't upgraded from 10.12.6 for similar reasons to you scullion.

Oh for the days of Claris Works.
Every day is a good day, it's just that some days are better than others.
User avatar
dennispc
Registered
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: September 8th, 2010, 6:28 pm

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby KC2 » February 20th, 2020, 11:30 am

KC2
Registered
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: December 31st, 2009, 5:38 pm
Location: West London

Re: Techie computer help please ...

Postby aero280 » February 20th, 2020, 2:42 pm

I can't see any reason to go to Windows 10 after a laptop refurb. What's wrong with it? If it's just the failing to connect, it may not be the laptop at fault. It could be your router, or it could be too many users having the same channel near you. You could go into the router settings and change the channel. See if that helps.
User avatar
aero280
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7809
Joined: December 31st, 2009, 12:46 pm
Location: Hertfordshire, UK


Return to The Coffee Shop

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests