Back from absence

Order yourself a latte, and a pastry (The virtual cinnamon buns are excellent today). And have a nice chat.

Back from absence

Postby Kavey » August 11th, 2019, 7:58 am

Sorry I've been AWOL for so long!

As many of you know, we moved from London to Wales in February. Since then we've been busy with unpacking, doing stuff to the house and the enormous garden, and getting settled in.

I found a new job really quickly, and started that in mid May, so I'm full time in work. It's a permanent role (I've been contracting for nearly 2 decades), working in the Office for National Statistics, so I'm a civil servant now. Loving the job but quite tiring, full time again. Job is based in Newport so only half an hour commute rather than the 1.5 hours each way that I was doing in latest London contract.

A lot of our weekends have been hosting friends and family, we can't meet up for an odd lunch or dinner anymore, as we live so far, so it's the whole weekend more often.

I've been struggling to find time to blog at all but managing a few, particularly restaurants in our local area. We are very close to Abergavenny, a great foodie area.

We've also just put our standalone annexe onto Airbnb, I'll link it below, it's just gone on so very few bookings so far, trouble is we can't get ratings until we get bookings but a lot of people don't like to book somewhere with no ratings! If you know anyone looking to visit the area, please pass our listing on to them! https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/36994896
Kavey
Registered

Re: Back from absence

Postby PatsyMFagan » August 11th, 2019, 8:18 am

Oooh, that all sounds lovely Kavey :tu: … and you now have the lifestyle a lot of us dream of. Good luck with Airbnb too :hi5: :bounce: :hug:
No-one knows if you've done your housework, but everyone knows if you've done your gardening !
PatsyMFagan
Registered

Postby dennispc » August 11th, 2019, 8:31 am